Music of the Middle Ages and the Modern Age. A station concert with music and words.

"I will tear out your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh," says the Book of Ezekiel, ch. 36, a scripture of the Jewish and Christian Old Testaments, written in Babylonia between 600 and 560 BC.

This call to revive our jaded heart and make it a feeling and compassionate organ is epitaph of the concert performed by the MEHR MUSIK! Ensemble (conductor: Iris Lichtinger) has conceived together with the ensemble "Die Schlagwerker" (conductor: Stefan Blum) on the theme of courage.

Courage is required when it comes to admitting feelings - be they euphoric or painful. Courage is required in order not to become petrified or blunted in the face of atrocities or acts of violence, illness or death. Such courageous confrontation, however, also holds an opportunity - for the inevitability or finality attached to war, disease and death can encourage a willingness to act and change.

Ultimately, however, love also requires courage - to allow it, to overcome the fear of loss inherent in love, and to love fully is perhaps the greatest adventure of our lives.

Works: Johannes X. Schachtner "Organo I (UA) , Stefan Blum "Wall" , Josquin Desprez "Cueur langoureulx", Edmund Rubbra "Meditazioni sopra "Cueur desolez" de Josquin , Gloria Coates "Breakin' through" , Hildegard von Bingen "O quam mirabilis", Ryohei Hirose "Meditation" and others.

With Iris Lichtinger, Stefan Blum, Ella Sevskaya , the MEHR MUSIK! Ensemble and the ensemble "Die Schlagwerker" . Dr. Karl B. Murr, director of the State Museum for Textile and Industrial Culture tim, will read.

Direction and conception: Iris Lichtinger



Stefan Blum (born 1963) "Wall

Yasuo Sueyshi (b. 1937) "Mirage"

Mark Ford (b. 1958) "Stubernic"


Gloria Coates (b. 1938) "Breaking through" (1977)

Ryohei Hirose (1930-2008) "Meditation" (1975)


Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) "O quam mirabilis"

Josquin Desprez (c. 1450-1521) "Coeurs langoureux"

Johannes X Schachtner (b. 1985) "organo IV" (2016, world premiere)

Josquin Desprez "Coeurs désolés"

Edmund Rubbra (1901-1986) "Meditazioni sopra coeurs désolés" op 67

Anonymus (1699) "Cor dulce, cor amabile"